Institute for Optoelectronic Systems and Microtechnology
Universidad Politécnica de Madrid


Departamento de Ingeniería Electrónica

Departamento de Electrónica Física

Departamento de Ingeniería Química Industrial y Medio Ambiente

Escuela Técnica Superior de Ingenieros de Telecomunicación

Escuela Técnica Superior de Ingenieros Industriales

Universidad Politécnica de Madrid


   Spanish Version
 Introduction and Objectives
 Research and Development
   Research groups and topics
   Technology Facilities
   R&D projects
   Congress Organized
   Institutional Visits
 Technology Center (CT-ISOM)
   Infr. Científico Técnica Singular (ICTS)
   What is ICTS?
   ICTS Objectives
   ICTS Services
   Access Protocol
   ICTS Activity
   ICTS Personnel
 Collaborations - Publications
   Collaborations with Centers
   Latest News
   Activity Reports
   ISOM personal awards
   Image Gallery

What is ICTS?


There is not a clear translation for the term "Instalación Científica y Tecnológica Singular (ICTS)". One of the possibilities is " Major Scientific Facilities" but it also can be found as "Large Scientific Facilities", "Large Scale Facilities" or "Large Scientific Infraestructure". In any case, what the Spanish Government defines as "Instalaciones Científicas y Tecnológicas Singulares (ICTS)" is related to those that are unique or exceptional facilities with investment and/or maintenance costs that are relatively large in relation to R&D investment budgets in the area in which their activities are centred and whose importance and strategic nature in terms of R&D justifies their accessibility to all R&D groups and society as a whole.

The Ministerio de Economía y Competitividad coordinates activities relating to major scientific and technological facilities at state level and sets the priorities for action. There is a Comité Asesor de Infraestructuras Singulares (CAIS), created by the Spanish Commission for Science and Technology (CICYT) to follow the action of the Spanish GICs. This Committee is made up of independent experts from different institutions.


Spanish Major Scientific Facilities

International Major Scientific Facilities with Spanish participation
The members of such Access Committee for CT-ISOM are listed bellow:
Prof. José María Alameda Maestro
Grupo de Láminas Delgadas y Nanoestructuras Magnéticas
Departamento Física
Facultad de Ciencias
Universidad de Oviedo
Prof. Ramón Alcubilla González
Departamento de Ingeniería Electrónica
Escuela Técnica Superior de Ingenieros de Telecomunicación
Universidad Politécnica de Cataluña.
Prof. Joan Ramón Morante
Área de Materiales Avanzados para la Energía
Institut de Recerca en Energia de Catalunya (IREC)
Prof. Francisco Javier Gracia Gaudó
Departamento de Microelectrónica
Centro de Estudios e Investigaciones Técnicas de Guipúzcoa (CEIT)
Prof. Germán González Díaz
Departamento de Física Aplicada III (Electricidad y Electrónica)
Facultad de Ciencias Físicas
Universidad Complutense de Madrid
Prof. José Miguel López Higuera
Grupo de Ingeniería Fotónica
Departamento de Tecnología Electrónica e Ingeniería de Sistemas y Automática (TEISA)
Escuela Técnica Superior de Ingenieros Industriales y de Telecomunicación.
Universidad de Cantabria
Prof. José Millán Gómez
Grupo de Dispositivos y Sistemas de Potencia
Instituto de Microelectrónica de Barcelona
Centro Nacional de Microelectrónica-CSIC
Prof. Héctor Guerrero Padrón
Departamento de Ciencias del Espacio y Tecnologías Electrónicas
Subdirección General de Investigación y Programas del INTA
Instituto Nacional de Técnicas Aeroespacial
Prof. Carlos Tejedor de Paz
Departamento de Física Teórica de la Materia Condensada
Facultad de Ciencias
Universidad Autónoma de Madrid



  © 2008 - 2015, ISOM-UPM